Now evening’s here

Now evening’s here I seem to lose my way,
On every path that’s lost beneath the leaves.
I watch them drift yet know I cannot stay,
For I must go before the light is thieved.
They seem to swirl the air against the trees,
As if to kiss them in their last goodbye,
And float and dance upon nights ghostly breeze,
I feel their sadness in their whispered sighs.
Sometimes I think I’ll stop and take my rest,
And think about them as they shift and sway,
I see them in my mind so loved and blessed,
But I must leave before I go astray.
Maybe it’s time before the light is fled,
To stay awhile and meet my friends instead.

2 thoughts on “Now evening’s here

Leave a Reply

