These Autumn winds

These autumn winds that gently shake the trees
Of leaves that fall as teardrops to the ground,
Remind me of my fate and what will be,
The tide of life to which we all are bound.
For in the wind I listened for the truth
Of distant echoes hoping to recall,
But find within its songs a fading youth,
The sad and certain end that must befall.
Long have I known the glory of it all
And yet have tread this lonely road, to shape
The final paths to where we all must fall,
This destination which has no escape.
I feel the evening clouds over me
And pray the darkness comes to set me free.

Leave a Reply

