There were trees

There were trees and the rustle of the wind
And sounds other than the wind
Which came from the land because of the wind.
The land was full of sounds of the wind
The rustle of the trees and of other things.

I listened to the land through the rustle of the trees
Hearing the wind and the other sounds.
I had heard only the wind and the dry crackling of leaves
The wind blew and the land listened,
The wind blew and the land answered.
I heard the land as it answered the wind
I listened to the answer and was frightened of the wind
I listened to the land and was frightened by the land.

I heard the wind speaking to the land
I heard the land answer the wind
And I was frightened that I had beheld the land and the wind.

For I had listened as the listener listens
Beholding nothing but himself
Nothing only the rustle of the wind and sound of the land.

Leave a Reply

