If only grief

If only grief would flare, then fade away,
It’s embers dying, licking at my soul.
Then I would bear the cost of what was stole,
And try to live without you for a day.
Yet grief will not be stilled or laid to rest,
Than I could keep the howling winds at bay.
There are no words of comfort that defray,
Or ease the raging torment in my chest.
This is the path that I in life must tread,
To hide my loss within a solemn smile.
And make believe of you, that for awhile,
Your love was true and not the lie instead.
I see you in my dreams, a thing of stone,
That stole my heart and made it like your own.

Leave a Reply

