Would you have loved me

Would you have loved me if you had waited,
For the anger to soften in your heart.
Or was it that, we were ever fated,
To disagree and always be apart.
What good is speech, when silence is spoken,
Of things wished for and of the word unsaid.
That hopes and dreams lay forever broken,
Shall I disown you now that you are dead.
Ah, had you had waited, waited for me,
Though I had known you only cold and rare.
And would have fought the world to set you free.
I who had thought you so lovely and fair.
No, let the soft earth enfold and cover,
That I was in truth your only lover.

Leave a Reply

