Leaving

The bark thickens and the bough,
Giving its bounty to the wind,
As the years fall around.
Each tomorrow the last day,
Yet you will not care
That I may forget,
Of what was lost.
Scattered in the wind,
Washed away,
Ruined in the neglect,
Of so many years.

You have been dead a long while,
And I, lost in those deep desires,
Find no solace in your passing.
Yet I must awaken from you,
Who has cast a long shadow
About my dreams.
You must leave me,
As the evening light that fades away.
And I must be alone,
To make my own way.

Leave a Reply

