When I grow old

When I grow old
Remember not the frail man
Who shivers now, lost and cold,
But of the other, brave and bold.
Not the one that lingers on.
When I am old.

When I grow old,
Ancient and useless
In my hearts desire,
And the bleak stars above,
Blows the flickering candle.
Think of yesterday
When all the world was new.
How did we conspire to let it die.
After all we knew.
When I am old.

When I grow old
To face the endless night,
That greets us all,
I think of the only love I had
And in those moments of regret
It makes me sad, to think of you.
When I am old.

Leave a Reply

