Come cover me

Come cover me in the dark memories,
For I have become old and leaden eyed.
Long lost and stuck in the sad reverie,
Of a bygone age, and an ebbing tide.
Must we grow weary and full of sorrows.
The fading embers of a dying fire.
Stuck in the past of our sad tomorrow’s,
Living in the twilight of mute desires.
If I could steal from her mouth, just one smile,
And have our lips entwined again and lay
My head upon her breast, and stay awhile
That in my dreams I dream of yesterday,
I would despite the bitter ways of age,
Renew the fight again and rage and rage.

Leave a Reply

