In the stilly night

In the stilly night,
When the moon is full,
And star light floods the floor.
I sit and think of every one,
I ever knew before.
Friends, long gone or passed away
Into the great unknown.
That left a mark,
Or raised a smile,
Has made me feel forlorn.

As I sit, I close my eyes,
To dream amid the tears.
Of simple pleasures,
That I had,
Within my boyhood years.
And think again of bitter words,
That often I had spoke.
That dimmed the light of love I shared
And hearts forever broke.

I think of every friend and foe,
And lovers who were mine.
Our lives were linked together,
Our fates were oft intwined.
But tonight I sit in solitude
When the light is all but fled
To think about my life
And the ghosts around my head.

Leave a Reply

