My boy

Before me now there stands the boy I knew.
Long changed, disguised and now an adult too.
In him I see the child I knew before,
Wondrous and wild, the kid I used adore.

And as I take the picture from its frame.
How can the man and boy be just the same.
How fair those eyes, so clear, but not my boy’s.
The innocence of youth, that time destroys.

My doubting heart betrays the timeless good,
The boy becomes the man I knew he would.
The man is still the boy I used adore,
Wondrous and wild, and kinder than before.

Leave a Reply

