I felt your hand

I felt your hand between her hand and mine,
Your breath I’ve tasted on these lips I kissed,
A shadow falls amid the songs and wine,
And I am desolate from all I’ve missed.
For though the night is but for passions spent,
Her head upon my chest so softly lay
And in the comforts of her charms and scent,
I think of what I’ve lost from loves decay.
Oh how I’ve tried to put you from my mind,
To place our memories upon the pyre,
But as the morning breaks I only find,
The hunger for your touch and my desire.
And in the dawning light when tears are shed
I think of you my love and bow my head.

Leave a Reply

