Sometimes I walk and feel no heat

Sometimes I walk and feel no heat
Nor rain nor wind nor sea
That rolls its tumbling waves
Against my brain
But only taste the salt upon my lips
From waves upon my face
That roll against my cheeks.
I see the gates are closed,
How I dread such gates
That can be closed so tight
I have pounded them each night.
Blood of my blood
You are gone from me
And I am helpless in your wake
I am sundered by your loss
You who of your mothers face
Brought out the light in me
From barren wastes you came to me
But now I am returning back
Where moonbeams shed no light
To rage against the innocence
Of what is left
To count my losses
And what is lost to me.

Leave a Reply

