I saw her fall

I saw her fall,
So helpless did she look
As she swayed against herself
Her flailing hands had pushed against the wall.
And as I held her hand
This woman I’d never met before
Whose life was slowly ebbing on the floor
Who whispered in my ear to say a prayer
Began to fade.
The pallor of her skin had lost its hue,
The colour of her lips were turning blue
And as she made a final rally round
Her voice was nothing but a gurgling sound
To herald that death was very near.
As I whispered prayers into her ear
She turned and smiled at me
As if to say just let me be
To quietly slip away
And looking into her eyes,
I knew they had departed
To other skies.

Leave a Reply

