Dreams

They feared me in my youth,
For what I knew,
And what I’d know,
That they could never know.
In college they urged me to excel,
But I could tell,
There was nothing there for me.
So in the end I just sat
And dreamed of primes,
Till they threw me out,
With a degree
That was a surprise, even to me.
I told them I could break the world in two,
And stick it back together good as new
And for a while I was happy
Solving problems
That no one else could solve.
Then you, with that silly smile.
Asking questions that made no sense,
That could not be solved,
By adding one and one.
Made me think again that life was
Not as simple as it seemed,
And I dreamed again,
Of you.

Leave a Reply

