I sit and wait

I sit and wait,
As the rain sheets down.
Battering the shelter
With unrelenting blows.
The yellow street lamps,
Shower us in a sickly glow,
Illuminating the places below
In a fog of pus like light.
This place has lost its soul.
It fled when we wrested away control
To build our factories and plants
In this hellish place
Even the air takes on
A desperation of despair.
As the bus takes me away
It is just a brief respite
From this misery
I must return to earn my keep
It is an inhumanity to me
It is my purgatory

Leave a Reply

